© 2019 Washington State Superior Court Judge's Association

A Brief History of SCJA

The Association of Superior Court Judges was founded in 1933 by state law, RCW 2.16. All currently serving Superior Court Judges are members of the Association, which also includes Court Commissioners and may include retired Judges. 

In 2016, legislation was passed that changed the Association’s name to Superior Court Judges’ Association (SCJA), a name that has been historically used for decades.


Judge Kitty-Ann van Doorninck

Pierce County

President Elect

Judge Judith H. Ramseyer

King County

Immediate Past President

Judge Blaine Gibson

Yakima County


Judge Jackie Shea-Brown

Benton and Franklin Counties


Judge Bryan E. Chushcoff

Pierce County

The officers manage the day to day operations of the association in conjunction with the Board Trustees. They also oversee the various committees of the Association.

Judge Kitty-Ann
van Doorninck

Welcome to our new SCJA President,

Judge Kitty-Ann

van Doorninck

SCJA President

District One

Judge Karen Donohue and

Judge Veronica Galvån

District Two

Judge Jennifer A. Forbes

Distric Three

Judge Raquel Montoya-Lewis

District Four

Judge Joely O’Rourke

District Five

Judge Doug L. Federspiel

District Six

Judge Rachelle Anderson

 SCJA Officers

 SCJA Trustees

Our Purpose

  • To improve the administration of justice.

  • To conduct instructive programs whereby higher standards of efficiency and excellence may be obtained and to better equip the superior court judges of Washington in the proper performance of their duties.

  • To support and implement the canons of judicial ethics.

  • To promote the interchange of ideas and to encourage cooperation and social contacts among the members of the judiciary.

  • To promote the objectives of statutes relating to the Association.

  • To promote better relations with the public and other branches of government.

Our goal is to provide equal justice for all while accomplishing the purposes enumerated above.